Minutes of Faculty Senate, 8/22/16 Meeting 123 Hathaway Hall

Senators

Abdullah Alhurani (Nursing) A Ibukun Amusan (Math & Sci)

Ken Andries (AFE) Nancy Capriles (BSS)

Gary Elliott (WYS) E

Maheteme Gebremedhin (AFE) A

Cindy Glass (BSS)

William Graham (EDU) A

Robert Griffin (FIAR)

Buddhi Gywali (AFE)

Dantrea Hampton (Library)

Jens Hannemann (Comp Sci) E

Robert Hebble (Math & Sci)

Ashok Kumar (at large)

Vikas Kumar (AQU)

Li Lu (Math & Sci)

Narayanan Rajendran (at large)

Reba Rye (at Large)

Peter Smith (LLP)

Steve Ulrich (PUA, CJ, SW)

Changzheng Wang (at large) A

Ex Officio Members and Guests

Aaron Thompson (President)

Candice Love Jackson (Acting VPAA)

Deneia Thomas (Assoc. VP)

6. VPAA Dr. Jackson

Vice President Jackson reiterated the work for faculty senate this year (working on the faculty handbook, reviewing tenure and promotion processes, etc.). She emphasized that the Board has

that this should be viewed more as a partnership than a typical vendor / customer relationship. She noted that there are plans for discipline-specific reps to come on campus.

If Pearson could not supply a digital copy of one its books, complementary print copies were ordered and could be picked up in the Bookstore. Desk copies for faculty needed to be obtained through the appropriate sales rep.

A guest expressed concern that books might be out of date for his discipline since it was rapidly changing. Ms. Healy noted that faculty could change books each term and the new books were being digitized on an ongoing basis. She pointed to Smarthinking to help students who are challenged by etexts.

President Thompson noted that Pearson has been great to work with, and he reiterated that he has appreciated the faculty getting on board with the adoption of etexts.

President Sipes said she was still working through all emails regarding etexts and asked for patience.

8. Faculty Regent Report

Faculty Regent McFayden offered a brief overview of the last Board meeting. He noted changes that were approved in the organization of the university. He indicated he is the chair of external relations s investment portfolio had recently picked up \$2.5 million; he made a request to President Thompson to draw down \$1 million for a one-time salary stipend to faculty.

Regent McFayden registered his concern about Post-Tenure Review. He noted that faculty put a good deal of energy into it when notified and that this forces them to put other important work on hold. He argued that faculty already go through an annual review.

The Faculty Regent expressed a desire to see the development of an enrollment management plan, but he praised the current administration as the best he has worked with. He noted their hard work, going so far as to clean dorm rooms in anticipation of the arrival of students.

Two senators expressed concern that the Faculty Regent had recently accepted a departmental chair position. It was noted that one is not supposed to hold an appointed position while serving in an elected capacity. The Regent responded by noting he was in compliance with KRS and that he had fulfilled part of his yearly teaching duties in the summer. He also argued that similar dual positions had been held by faculty in recent years. President Sipes promised that the situation would be addressed in committee.

9. Break-out into individual committees for election of Chairs, Vice-Chairs, and Secretaries.

Senate committees will be constituted as follows:

Academic Policies Committee – Hathaway Hall 314

Joe Moffett (LLP), Chair

Ashok Kumar (at large), Vice Chair

Ibukun Amusan (Math & Sci), Secretary (fall term)

Maheteme Gebremedhin (AFE), Secretary (spring term)

Nancy Capriles (BSS)

Nkechi Amadife (Library -- non-Senator)

Budget and Academic Support Committee – Shauntee Hall 100

Reba Rye (at Large), Chair

Peter Smith (LLP), Vice Chair

LeChrista Finn (AFE -- non-Senator), Secretary

Vikas Kumar (AQU)

William Graham (EDU)

Li Lu (Math & Sci)

Sunday Obi (EDU -- non-Senator)

Rene Desborde (BUA -- non-Senator)

Mike Unuakhalu (Comp Sci -- non-Senator)

<u>Curriculum Committee – Library 2nd Flo</u>or Conference Room 219

Ken Andries (AFE), Chair

Changzheng Wang (at large), Vice Chair

Dantrea Hampton (Library), Secretary

Gary Elliott (WYS)

Robert Griffin (FIAR)

Narayanan Rajendran (at large)

Donavan Ramon (WYS -- non-Senator)

Professional Concerns Committee – Hathaway Hall 224

Cindy Glass (BSS), Chair

Steve Ulrich (PUA, CJ, SW), Vice Chair

Buddhi Gywali (AFE), Secretary

Robert Hebble (Math & Sci)

Abdullah Alhurani (Nursing)

Jens Hannemann (Comp Sci)

Fariba Bigdeli-Jahed (Math Sci -- non-Senator)

Mara Merlino (BSS -- non-Senator)

10. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn the meeting passed at 4:40pm.

Respectfully submitted,