Kentucky State University
Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes
October 30, 2020
Submitted by Danny Collum, Secretary

1. Call to Order

Senator Gyawali also reported that APC had continued its discussion of a possible Pass/Fail

## a. Action item on Deans and Chairs appointment

PCC Vice-Chair Griffis presented an action item revising the section of the Faculty Handbook dealing with appointments of deans and chairs. On the hiring of deans, the item outlines requirements for faculty representation in the process, adds language calling for candidates to have "national recognition" for scholarship or creative activity in their discipline and details a process, including screening by KSU faculty in the relevant discipline, for awarding tenure to these administrators.

Concerns were raised about the necessity and feasibility of the tenure screening process described in the action item. After some discussion Vice-Chair Griffis agreed to withdraw the action item for this week and have the committee look at that section again.

The proposed changes regarding selection of chairs called for them to be elected from within the academic unit and serve a three-year term. A senator asked who can vote in those elections? Response was that the faculty handbook currently says that only tenured or tenure track faculty may vote. The senator expressed concern about that, saying that instructors should have some voice in the evaluation of chairs.

PCC will reconsider this item with Senate feedback in mind at its next meeting. Anyone with more questions or feedback on the whole deans and chairs issue should direct their comments to

Guests

Frederick A. Williams Jr., Ph.D. Lauren Graves

Beverly Schneller Keturah Nix, PhD

HK Wilfred Reilly

9836 David Shabazz

Joe Moffett LYNN

James Obielodan 1599

Michael D. Dailey, PhD 3654

Tierra Taylor 4780

Mara.Merlino Ms. Thea M. Mason

Debbra Tate Dr. Nkechi Amadife

Margery Coulson-Clark 0366

Ken Andries Kim Sipes

Ban